Afrikaans (AF)

Lingua afrikaans

Language family: GERMANIC

Alphabet: ROMAN


Afrikaans is a member of the western Germanic language group and has many similarities with 18th century Dutch. The word afrikaans means “African” in Dutch.

The language developed from the dialect spoken by the Boer colonists and employees of the Dutch East India Company, who arrived in Cape Colony at the end of the 17th century.

From 1815 onwards, Afrikaans, still written in the Arabic alphabet at that time, started to replace Malay as the language of Muslim schools in South Africa, and since 1925 it has been considered a language rather than a dialect.

Today, Afrikaans is written in the Roman alphabet and is spoken above all in Namibia and South Africa, although Afrikaans speakers are to be found as far afield as Australia, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Germany, Lesotho, Malawi, Netherlands, New Zealand, Great Britain, USA, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It is the mother tongue of 6 million people, and the second language of more than 10 million.

There is almost no conjugation of the verb and the imperfect tense.

It also has just one gender and use the double negative.

The language contains numerous words from the Bantu, from Portuguese and Malay.


Does Afrikaans use any special characters which there might be problems displaying?
No, the language uses the Roman alphabet and there are no problems in displaying it.

Afrikaans (AF) ultima modifica: 2018-09-02T08:00:09+02:00 da