Kazakh (KK)

Lingua kazaka

Language family: TURKIC / ALTAIC

Alphabet: CYRILLIC


Kazakh is a western Turkic language related to Nogai and the Karakalpak languages.

It is the official language of Kazakhstan. It is spoken in Afghanistan, China, Iran, Mongolia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. Overall, it is spoken by over 8 million people.

In the 19th century, when intellectuals educated in Islamic schools were all opponents of Russia, Kazakh was written in the Arab script. In a later period, Russia reformed the school system and imposed the Cyrillic alphabet, although it was never completely accepted by the population. The Arab script was reintroduced in school and in government business around 1917. After a period of Kazakh nationalism, in 1927 the Arabic script was replaced by the Roman alphabet. Cyrillic made a comeback in 1940, under Stalin.

The use of the Cyrillic alphabet was obligatory in Soviet Bloc countries until the fall of Communism in the late Eighties.

The Kazakh government is presently supporting a move back to the Roman alphabet. According to official government sources, Qazaqsa (the Kazakh language written in the Roman alphabet) will be the official language from 2020 onwards.

It has numerous borrowings from Arabic and Persian.

It uses the subject-verb-object sentence structure.

How is Kazakh written?
Kazakh currently uses the Cyrillic alphabet.

Kazakh (KK) ultima modifica: 2016-11-28T17:00:06+01:00 da interlanguage.it